Official Nebraska Government Website
Nebraska Unicameral Legislative Districts  

Changes in the number of districts and population shifts mean that district boundaries change. Some Senators have served in more than one district. 43 districts were created for the first Unicameral Legislature convened in 1937. District boundaries were not changed again until 1963. In 1961 the Nebraska Legislature passed bills to amend the state constitution allowing for consideration of area and county boundaries as well as population in apportionment, to increase the number of districts to 49, and to change the term of office to 4 years.

Voters approved the amendments in the November 1962 election and in 1963 49 districts were created based on area, county boundaries and population. Apportionment was a controversial issue however. The U. S. Supreme court ruled in 1962 that federal courts had jurisdiction over state apportionment, and in 1964 handed down the one man, one vote edict establishing that apportionment must be based only on population. In 1964 the Federal District Court ruled that the November 1964 Nebraska election could be held using the 1963 apportionment, but districts must be reapportioned again based only on population before the 1966 election. In 1964 Senators in odd-numbered districts were elected to four-year terms. Senators in even-numbered districts were elected to two-year terms, then 4-year terms in 1966. Since 1966 all Senators serve four-year terms. Every 10 years districts are reapportioned based on decennial census data. More information about the Nebraska Legislative reapportionment battle in the 1960's is in this Chronological History of Nebraska Legislative Reapportionment published in 1966 by the Nebraska Legislative Council.

Unicameral Legislative District Maps*
  • 1962
  • 1964
  • 1966-1970
  • 1972
  • 1982-1983 (Boundaries established by LB 406 in the 1981 Legislative Session)
  • 1992-1993 (Boundaries established by LB 614 passed in 1991 and LB 7 passed during the second special session in 1992.)
  • 2002-2003 (Boundaries established by LB 852 in the 2001 legislative session.)
  • 2011- The current map is located on the Legislature - Maps Clearinghouse page.

* All maps are from the Nebraska Blue Book of the corresponding year.

Search the Nebraska Legislators, Past and Present database